Privacy Settings & Information
By default, anyone can view your profile and posts on Instagram. You can make your posts private so that only followers you approve can see them. If your posts are set to private, only your approved followers will see them in the Photos tab of Search & Explore or on hashtag or location pages. Posts can't be set to private from a desktop computer.
To set your posts to private from the Instagram app on iOS:
- Go to your profile by tapping
- Turn on the Private Account setting
Things to keep in mind about private posts:
- Private posts you share to social networks may be visible to the public depending on your privacy settings for those networks. For example, a post you share to Twitter that was set to private on Instagram may be visible to the people who can see your Twitter posts.
- Once you make your posts private, people will have to send you a follow request to see your posts, your followers list or your following list.
- Follow requests appear in Activity, where you can approve or ignore them.
- If someone was already following before you set your posts to private and you don't want them to see your posts, you can block them.
- People can send a photo or video directly to you even if they’re not following you.
If your account is public, anyone can like or comment on your photos and videos. If you want to prevent specific people from liking or commenting on your posts, you can block them.
If your account is private, only the people you've approved as followers will be able to like or comment on your photos and videos.
If someone with a private profile shares a photo or video to a social network (like Twitter, Facebook and so on) using Instagram, the image will be visible on that network and the permalink will be active. In other words, the photo will be publicly accessible by anyone who has access to its direct link/URL.
Keep in mind that sharing a photo or video to a social network doesn't mean that the image will be visible in Instagram. Your account will still appear private to those who aren't approved followers.
To automatically hide comments that you don't want to appear on your posts, you can filter comments by default or custom keywords. The default list of keywords contains the most common inappropriate and offensive words on Instagram, including profanity, and custom keywords can include any words, phrases, numbers or emoji you'd like to filter out:
- Go to your profile and tap (iOS) or (Android) in the top right
- Tap Comments
- Tap next to Hide Inappropriate Comments to filter comments using a default list of keywords, or enter custom keywords separated by commas below Custom Keywords
- Tap Done
When you turn on comment filtering, it’s applied to both new and existing comments on your posts. When you turn off comment filtering, filtered comments on your posts will be restored.
Keep in mind that default and custom keyword filtering aren't currently available in all languages:
- Default Keywords: The default list of keywords is currently only available in certain languages
- Custom Keywords: Currently, custom keyword filtering doesn't support languages without spaces (ex: Chinese, Japanese, Thai)
Keep in mind that comments that were hidden, either automatically or by a keyword filter you turn on, may still be included in the comment count that appears below your post.
You can turn off commenting to prevent people from commenting on an individual post. When you turn off commenting, any comments that are currently on your post will be hidden.
If you turn commenting back on for a post, previous comments will be restored and people will be able to comment again.
To turn commenting off or on for a post you've shared on your iOS device:
- Tap above your post.
- Select Turn Off Commenting or Turn On Commenting.
You can also turn off commenting for a post before you share it. On the screen where you add a caption or location to your post, tap Advanced Settings, then tap Turn Off Commenting.
If your account is set to private, you can remove people from your followers list:
- Go to your profile
- Tap Followers at the top of the screen
- Tap (iPhone) or (Android) to the right of the follower you'd like to remove, then select Remove
When you remove a follower, they aren't notified that you've removed them.
You can also block someone to get them to stop following you. People aren't notified when you block them. Learn more about blocking people.
When you like a photo, it's visible to anyone who can see the post. Your followers may also see your username below a photo you've liked, no matter how many likes it has (example: [your username] and 12 others).
After 4 likes, photos show the number of likes, along with usernames of some people you follow who have liked it.
If your account is set to private:
- Only your approved followers can see your posts, including any likes and comments
- Likes on your posts won't appear in the Activity > Following feed
- When you like a public post, your like will be visible to everyone and your username will be clickable below the post, but only approved followers can see your posts
When someone taps Follow on your Instagram profile, they'll see suggestions of similar profiles they might also want to follow, such as mutual friends or other people they might know. If you don't want these suggestions to appear on your profile, you can opt out:
- Log into instagram.com from a desktop computer or your phone's browser
- Tap or click in the top right, then select Edit Profile
- Tap or click next to Similar Account Suggestions, then click Submit
Keep in mind that when you opt out of account suggestions on your profile, you won't appear as a suggestion on someone else's profile either.
If your posts are set to public, anyone will be able to see your profile by visiting instagram.com/[your username] on the web.
If your posts are set to private, your photos will be visible to people logged into Instagram who you've approved to follow you.
Learn more about adjusting your privacy settings. The privacy settings you set on mobile are the same as your privacy settings on the web.
Your images may appear in Google search results if you've logged into your account using a web viewer, which authorizes them to access your profile and images. These third-party sites have been created with our API and aren't affiliated with Instagram directly.
If you don't want your photos or videos to appear on Google, we suggest revoking access to the third-party website or setting your account to private. It may take some time for these sites and Google to re-index and remove the images, even if you delete your account.
If you need to contact the app that's displaying your photographs on Google to expedite the process, here are links to support pages for popular third-party services utilizing our API:
- Webstagram / dm.stagram / search.stagram: Webstagram
- Gramfeed: @gramfeeed on Twitter
- Instagreat: @elliotkember on Twitter
- InstaGallery: http://infinitapps.com/contact.html
- InstaView: http://www.roguesheep.com/support.html
- Flipboard: https://flipboard.com/topic/instagram
- Statigram: email@example.com
- Followgram: @followgrame on Twitter
- Cityowls: firstname.lastname@example.org
Instagram isn't directly associated with third-party apps that utilize our API such as web viewers, desktop apps or image printing services, and we can't assist you in speeding up the process to remove any Instagram images that may appear on Google.
You can also find more information on removing a page or site from Google's search results.