What happens to content I've deleted from my Instagram account?

You can choose to delete content from your Instagram account. This includes content like:

  • Photos and videos from your feed
  • Photos and videos from an Instagram story
  • Instagram stories from highlights and your story archive
  • Reels

Content that you choose to delete is removed from your account immediately and automatically deleted up to 30 days later. During those 30 days the content remains subject to Instagram’s Terms of Use and Data Policy and is not accessible to other people using Instagram.

It may take up to 90 days to complete the deletion process after it begins. Copies of your content may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts. Learn more about this in our Data Policy .

Was this information helpful?