Instagram Direct lets you send a photo or video to a select group of people. Posts won’t appear in Feed, search or your profile.
To send photos/videos with Instagram Direct:
- Take a new photo/video or upload one from your camera roll.
- Add optional effects, filters and a caption.
- Tap Direct. You’ll see some features appear in green when you’re using Instagram Direct.
- Tap the names of people you want to send the post to (up to 15 people).
- Tap Send.
The people you've sent the post to will get a notification. To see posts you've sent with Instagram Direct, tap in the top right of your Home feed. You can manage the posts you've sent and received from here.
Posts sent with Instagram Direct can't be shared through Instagram to other sites like Facebook or Twitter. You also can't tag people or use hashtags in these shared posts.
Yes, you can send a photo or video to anyone when you use Instagram Direct. If you send a post to someone who doesn’t follow you, your post will go to their requests queue. If someone accepts your request, your post will go to their direct posts the next time you share directly with them. Posts that stay in the requests queue may become unavailable.
When someone you follow sends a photo or video to you with Instagram Direct, it’ll go to your direct posts. Get to your direct posts by tapping in the top right of Feed.
Posts you've received
If someone you don’t follow sends you a post, it’ll go to your requests queue. From there, you can choose to accept the request into your direct posts or to ignore it by tapping x. You can also tap Ignore All to ignore all requests at one time. When you accept requests, future posts sent to with you from that person will go to your direct posts.
Keep in mind that posts that stay in your requests queue may become unavailable after a while.
Posts you've sent
You'll see your username next to posts you've sent. To delete a post you've sent:
- Tap and then tap the photo or video you want to delete
- Tap (iPhone and Windows Phone) at the bottom right of a post or(Android) at the top right of a post
- Tap Delete this post
You can report abusive posts that are sent to you by tapping (iPhone and Windows Phone) at the bottom right of a post or(Android) at the top right of a post and then choosing Report Inappropriate.
If you don't want someone to send a post to you, tap the three dots and then choose Ignore posts from this user. You can also block that person.
When you delete a sent post, it'll also be deleted from Instagram. The people you’ve sent it to won’t be able to see it.
Everyone that you've sent a photo or video to can see its likes or comments, even if they don't follow each other.
- Ignore people you don’t want to hear from. If you want to ignore all messages from someone you follow, you can always tap (iPhone) or (Android) in your direct posts and select the option to Ignore All from that person.
- Block people that bother you. If someone bothers you through messages or anywhere else on Instagram, block them so they can't view your photos/videos or search for your Instagram account. People aren't notified when you block them.
- Report problematic content. You can report posts that may not be following our policies directly from Instagram app with our built-in reporting feature.