To block or unblock someone:
- Tap their username to go to their profile.
- Tap (iOS/computer) or (Android) in the top right.
- Tap Block/Unblock (iOS/Android) or Block/Unblock this user (computer).
- Tap Block/Unblock again to confirm.
People aren't notified when you block them. Learn more about blocking people.
Note: After you block someone, their likes and comments will be removed from your photos and videos. Unblocking someone won't restore their previous likes and comments. You can delete their comments from your posts. You can also block multiple people from your comments.
When you block someone from commenting, they can still view your photos and videos. Any new comments from them won’t be visible to anyone else except for them.
To block someone from commenting on your photos and videos:
- Go to your profile and tap .
- Tap Privacy > Comments.
- Next to Block Comments From, tap People.
- Enter the name of the person you want to block, then tap Block next to their name.
To unblock someone from commenting on your photos and videos, tap Unblock next to their name and then tap Unblock again to confirm.
Keep in mind that when you block someone from commenting, it doesn't remove their previous comments. Learn more about blocking people.
By default, anyone can see your profile and posts on Instagram. You can make your account private so that only followers you approve can see what you share. If your account is set to private, only your approved followers will see your photos or videos on hashtag or location pages.
Set your account to private from the Instagram app on your Android or iOS device
- Go to your profile, then tap .
- Tap Settings.
- Tap Privacy > Account Privacy.
- Tap next to Private Account to make your account private.
Set your account to private on your computer or mobile browser
- Go to instagram.com on your computer or mobile browser.
- Click , then click .
- Click Privacy and Security.
- Below Account Privacy, click to check the box next to Private Account.
Things to keep in mind about private accounts
- Private posts you share to social networks may be visible to the public depending on your privacy settings for those networks. For example, a post you share to Twitter that was set to private on Instagram may be visible to the people who can see your Twitter posts.
- Once you make your account private, people will have to send you a follow request to see your posts, your followers list or your following list.
- Follow requests appear in Activity, where you can approve or ignore them.
- If someone was already following you before you set your posts to private and you don't want them to see your posts, you can block them.
- People can send a photo or video directly to you even if they’re not following you.
When you block someone, that person won't be able to find your profile, posts or story on Instagram. People aren't notified when you block them.
Likes and comments
- After you block someone, their likes and comments will be removed from your photos and videos. Unblocking someone won't restore their previous likes and comments.
- People that you block can still see your likes and comments on posts that were shared by public accounts or accounts they follow.
Mentions and tags
- After you block someone, they won't be able to mention your username or tag you.
- If you block someone and then change your username, they won't be able to mention or tag you unless they know your new username.
- After you block someone, your messaging threads with them will remain in your Direct inbox, but you won't be able to message them.
- If you're in a group message with someone you've blocked, you'll get a dialog asking whether you want to stay in the group or leave. If you choose to stay in the group, you'll be able to see messages from the person you blocked in the group.
- If the person you blocked sends you any messages in Direct, you won't receive those messages, and they won't be delivered later if you unblock them.
- After you block someone, they won't be able to join a room you create if they're logged in to their Instagram account.
If you no longer want to block someone, you can unblock them.
You can report abusive photos, videos and messages that are sent to you with Instagram Direct:
- Open the conversation in the Instagram app.
- Tap and hold the individual message you'd like to report.
- Tap Report.
- Select a reason for why you're reporting the message and then tap Report.
If you'd like to report a post from Feed that was sent to you with Instagram Direct, you can tap the post and report it.
If you restrict someone:
- They won’t be able to see when you’re online or if you’ve read their messages.
- Their new comments on your posts will only be visible to that person, and you can choose to see the comment by tapping See Comment. If you want others to be able to see their comment, you can tap Approve > Approve, or you can delete it or ignore it.
- You won’t receive any notifications for future comments from that person.
Note: You can also restrict multiple people from your comments.
There are multiple ways to restrict someone:
To restrict someone through Direct:
- Tap and tap the chat with the person you want to restrict.
- Tap in the top right of your chat.
- Tap Restrict > Restrict Account.
Keep in mind that:
- Your chat with the restricted person will move from your main Direct inbox to Message Requests, and future messages from people that you’ve restricted will automatically move to Message Requests.
- You’ll be able to see the person’s message without the person knowing that you’ve seen it. You can then choose to delete the message or block or unrestrict the person.
- If you’re in a group chat with someone that you’ve restricted, you’ll get a warning that you’ll see a restricted account’s messages. You can choose to stay or leave the group.
To restrict or unrestrict someone through a comment on your post:
- Go to your post and tap View all comments.
- Swipe left over the comment (iPhone) or tap and hold the comment (Android).
- Tap (iPhone) or (Android) and then tap Restrict [username] or Unrestrict [username].
If a restricted person comments on your post, you can tap See Comment to reveal what the comment says, or you can tap Delete to delete the comment. If you tapped See Comment, you can tap Approve > Approve to make the comment visible to others, or you can tap Delete to delete the comment.
Keep in mind that you won’t receive notifications for any future comments made by someone that you’ve restricted.
To restrict or unrestrict someone through your settings:
- Go to your profile and tap .
- Tap Settings and then tap Privacy.
- Below Connections, tap Restricted Accounts.
- Tap Continue.
- Search for the account you’d like to restrict and tap Restrict next to their username, or tap Unrestrict to unrestrict someone.
To restrict or unrestrict someone through their profile:
- Go to the profile of the person you want to restrict or unrestrict.
- Tap (iPhone) or (Android) in the top right.
- Select Restrict > Restrict Account or Unrestrict.