How do I send messages in vanish mode on Instagram?
This feature may be unavailable for countries located in Europe.
Vanish mode lets people send each other disappearing messages, photos, videos and other content in a chat. Content sent in vanish mode disappears when someone leaves the chat or turns vanish mode off. To use vanish mode, you must update to Messenger features on Instagram.
To turn vanish mode on or off:
- From your chat, swipe up to turn on vanish mode.
- Tap Turn Off Vanish Mode at the top or swipe up to turn it off.
You’ll get a notification on Instagram if someone sends you a message in vanish mode. Tap on the notification to enter a chat with them in vanish mode. You’ll also be notified if they send you a new message outside of vanish mode.
Keep in mind that:
- You won't be able to copy, save or forward disappearing messages.
- Accounts you haven’t connected with before can’t send you message requests in vanish mode.
- You can only use vanish mode in a chat with another Instagram account. You won’t be able to use it in a group chat or in a chat with a Messenger account.
Only use vanish mode with people you trust. For example, it's possible for someone to:
- Take a screenshot or screen recording of a message in vanish mode before it disappears. You’ll receive a notification if this happens.
- Take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears.
Learn more about reporting messages in vanish mode.
- How do I manage message requests on Instagram?
- How do I block or unblock someone in a chat while using Messenger features on Instagram?
- How do I report a message or chat sent in vanish mode on Instagram?
- How do I update to Messenger features on Instagram?
- How do I watch videos or view posts with other people on Instagram?