Who can create a remix of my reel on Instagram?

The default of your reels remix settings depends on your account’s privacy setting:

  • For private accounts: No one can remix your reels.
  • For public accounts: Anyone on Instagram can remix your reels.

You can change your reel’s remix setting at any time without changing your account’s privacy setting.

To manage who can remix your reels

Instagram app for Android and iPhone:
  1. Tap instagram-user-profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap in the top right, then tap instagram-settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Privacy, then tap Reels.
  4. Tap or next to Enable Remixing to turn remixing on or off.

Note that changing this setting will affect all of your reels. Turning off remixing won’t affect who can use your original audio.

To manage who can remix a specific reel

Instagram app for Android and iPhone:
  1. Tap instagram-user-profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap Reels below your profile info.
  3. Tap the reel you want to manage, then tapig-three-dots (iPhone) or ig-three-dots (Android) at the bottom.
  4. Tap Enable Remixing or Disable Remixing to turn remixing on or off, then tap Enable or Disable to confirm.

Keep in mind

  • You'll receive a notification if a public account remixes your reel.
  • Remixes will be deleted if you set your account to private for longer than 24 hours.
  • Remix creators can download your reel as part of their remix. You can’t download remixes of your reels.
  • If you turn off remixing, remixes of your reels created before you changed your setting will stay on Instagram unless you delete your reel.
Was this information helpful?