Who can create a remix of your reels and videos on Instagram
The default remix settings of your reels and feed videos depends on your account’s privacy setting:
  • For private accounts: No one can remix your reels or feed videos.
  • For public accounts: Anyone on Instagram can remix your reels and feed videos shared after remixing became available.
If you have a public account, you can turn off remixing for reels, feed videos or both without changing your account's privacy settings. You can also turn remixing off for individual videos.
You can change your reel’s remix setting at any time without changing your account’s privacy setting.
To manage who can remix your reels and feed videos
Instagram app for Android and iPhone:
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap more options in the top right, then tap settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Privacy, then tap Reels and Remix.
  4. From here, you can manage your preferences for each type of video. Tap switch off or switch on next to Allow for reels or Allow for feed videos to turn remixing on or off.
Note that changing this setting will affect all of your reels or feed videos. Turning off remixing won’t affect who can use your original audio.
To manage who can remix a specific reel or feed video
Instagram app for Android and iPhone:
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap the reel you want to manage, then tapmore actions (iPhone) or more actions (Android) at the bottom.
  3. From here you can:
    • Tap Turn Off Remixing then tap Turn off to confirm. No one will be able to create new remixes with this video, but existing remixes won’t be affected unless you delete your video
    • Tap Allow Remixing then tap Allow remixing to confirm. Anyone will be able to create a remix with this video.
Keep in mind
  • You'll receive a notification if a public account remixes your reel or feed video.
  • Remixes will be deleted if you set your account to private for longer than 24 hours.
  • Remix creators can download your reel or feed video as part of their remix. You can’t download remixes of your reels. You can’t download remixes others have created with your reel or feed video.
  • If you turn off remixing, remixes of your reels and feed videos created before you changed your setting will stay on Instagram unless you delete your post.
  • If you restore a video you’ve deleted within 30 days, all the remixes of your video will also be restored.
  • Deleting your reel will also delete remixes created with your reel.
Was this information helpful?
English (US)
+
Meta © 2022