Who can create a remix of your reels, videos, and photos on Instagram
The default remix settings of your reels, feed videos, and photos depends on your account’s privacy setting:
  • For private accounts: No one can remix your reels, feed videos, and photos.
  • For public accounts: Anyone on Instagram can remix your reels, feed videos, and photos shared after remixing became available.
If you have a public account, you can turn off remixing for reels, feed videos, and photos or any combination without changing your account's privacy settings. You can also turn remixing off for individual reels, feed videos, and photos from each post.
You can change your remix settings at any time without changing your account’s privacy setting.
To manage who can remix your reels, feed videos, and photos
Instagram app for Android and iPhone:
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap more options in the top right, then tap settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Privacy, then tap Reels and Remix.
  4. From here, you can manage your preferences for each type of video. Tap switch off or switch on next to Allow for reels or Allow for feed videos or Allow for photos to turn remixing on or off.
Note that changing this setting will affect all of your reels, feed videos, and photos. Turning off remixing won’t affect who can use your original audio.

Instagram users under 18

Instagram users under 18 may further restrict who can remix their content by audience: everyone, people you follow, or no one. The default setting is “people you follow.”

You can manage this preference on the same screen as you turn remixing on or off.
To manage who can remix a specific reel, feed video, and photo
Instagram app for Android:
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap the reel or photo you want to manage, then tap more actions at the bottom.
  3. From here you can:
    • Tap Turn Off Remixing, then tap Turn off to confirm. No one will be able to create new remixes with this video or photo, but existing remixes won’t be affected unless you delete your video or photo.
    • Tap Allow Remixing, then tap Allow remixing to confirm. Anyone will be able to create a remix with this video or photo.
Instagram app for iPhone:
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap the reel or photo you want to manage, then tap more actions at the bottom.
  3. From here you can:
    • Tap Turn Off Remixing, then tap Turn off to confirm. No one will be able to create new remixes with this video or photo, but existing remixes won’t be affected unless you delete your video or photo.
    • Tap Allow Remixing, then tap Allow remixing to confirm. Anyone will be able to create a remix with this video or photo.
Keep in mind
  • You'll receive a notification if a public account remixes your content.
  • Remixes will be deleted if you set your account to private for longer than 24 hours.
  • Remix creators can download your content as part of their remix. You can’t download remixes others have created with your reel, feed video, or photo.
  • If you turn off remixing, remixes of your reels, feed videos, and photos created before you changed your setting will stay on Instagram unless you delete your post.
  • If you restore a video or photo you’ve deleted within 30 days, all the remixes of your video or photo will also be restored.
  • Deleting your reel or photo will also delete remixes created with it.
Was this information helpful?
English (US)
+
Meta © 2023