Temporarily deactivate your Instagram account.
If you temporarily deactivate your account, your profile, photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. You can only deactivate your Instagram account from a computer, a mobile browser, or the Instagram app for iPhone.
Keep in mind that you can only deactivate your account once a week.
To temporarily deactivate your account:
Instagram.com from a computer:
  1. Log into instagram.com from a computer.
  2. Click your profile picture in the top right and click Profile, then click Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll down, then click Temporarily deactivate my account in the bottom right.
  4. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deactivating your account? and re-enter your password. The option to deactivate your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  5. Click Temporarily Deactivate Account. Click Yes to confirm or No to cancel.
Instagram.com from a mobile browser:
  1. Log into instagram.com from a mobile browser.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the bottom right and tap Profile, then tap Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll down, then tap Temporarily deactivate my account in the bottom right.
  4. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deactivating your account? and re-enter your password. The option to deactivate your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  5. Tap Temporarily Deactivate Account. Tap Yes to confirm or No to cancel.
Instagram app for iPhone:
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap more options in the top right, then tap settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Account, then tap Delete account at the bottom.
  4. Tap Deactivate account then select an option from the drop-down menu below Why are you deactivating your account?
  5. Re-enter the password for your account. The option to deactivate your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  6. Tap Temporarily Deactivate Account.
You’ll need to be able to log into your account to temporarily deactivate it. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.
If you don't want to deactivate your account but want to change who can see it, you can set your posts to private or block people.
Note: Follow these instructions if you'd like to delete your Instagram account.
Was this information helpful?
English (US)
+
Meta © 2022