Tagging & Mentions

Tagging People in Your Photos and Videos

You can tag people to a photo or video that you share on Instagram.

To tag people as you're posting a photo or video:

  1. After you've selected a photo or video and added effects and filters, tap Tag People from the Share screen.
  2. Tap on someone in the photo.
  3. Start entering their name or username and select them from the dropdown menu. If you don't see the person you're looking for, tap Search for a person (iPhone) or Search for a user (Android).

To add people to a photo or video you've already shared:

  1. Go to the photo or video.
  2. Tap (iPhone) or(Android) above the photo or video.
  3. Tap Edit.
  4. Tap Tag People.
Was this information helpful?

No. Only the person who shared the photo or video can tag people in it.

Was this information helpful?

The people you tag in a photo or video are visible to anyone who can see it.

If your Instagram account is public, anyone can see the photo or video, and the person you tagged will get a notification. If your Instagram account is private, only your approved followers can see the photo or video, and the person you tag will only get a notification if they're following you.

Was this information helpful?

Photos and Videos You're Tagged in

To see photos and videos other people have tagged you in, go to your profile and tap . You can choose to manually or automatically add these photos and videos to your profile.

Was this information helpful?

When other people tag you in photos or videos, they may show up on your profile. To see photos and videos you've been tagged in, go to your profile and tap . Who can see these on your profile depends on your visibility settings:

  • Posts are Public: Anyone can see photos and videos you're tagged in on your profile.
  • Posts are Private: Only confirmed followers can see photos and videos you're tagged in on your profile.

You can hide photos and videos you're tagged in from your profile or remove the tag if you don't want anyone to see them. You can also choose to manually approve photos and videos you're tagged in before they appear on your profile.

Was this information helpful?

To hide a photo or video you're tagged in:

  1. Tap the photo or video.
  2. Tap your username.
  3. Tap Hide from My Profile then Done.

You can add a photo or video back to your profile by going to it, repeating steps 1-2 above and then tapping Show on My Profile.

To hide multiple photos or videos at once:

  1. Go to your profile and tap .
  2. Tap Settings > Photos and Videos of You.
  3. Tap Hide Photos and Videos.
  4. Select the photos or videos you'd like to hide from your profile, then tap Hide.

Keep in mind that hiding a photo or video from your profile doesn't remove you from the photo or video itself. Learn more about removing yourself from a photo or video you're tagged in.

Was this information helpful?

You can choose whether photos and videos you're tagged in appear on your profile automatically or manually. When you choose to add photos and videos manually, they'll appear on your profile only after you approve them. By default, when someone tags a photo or video of you, it will automatically be added to your profile.

To manually select the photos and videos that appear on your profile:

  1. Go to your profile and tap .
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Select Photos and Videos of You.
  4. Tap next to Add Automatically or Add Manually.

If you choose to add photos and videos to your profile manually, you'll still be notified when someone tags you in a photo or video. To add that photo or video to your profile, tap the photo or video, then tap your username and select Show on My Profile.

Was this information helpful?

Anyone can tag you in photos and videos on Instagram, except for the people you've blocked. You can choose to manually or automatically include these photos and videos on your profile.

Was this information helpful?

To remove yourself from a photo or video someone tagged you in:

  1. Tap the photo or video.
  2. Tap your name.
  3. Tap More Options > Remove Me from Post (iPhone) or Remove Tag (Android).
  4. Tap Remove (iPhone) or Yes, I'm Sure (Android).
Was this information helpful?

Mentions

To mention someone, type @ followed immediately by their username (example: "great photo, @shayne!"). Don't include a space between @ and the username.

When you mention someone, they'll get a notification in their Activity feed letting them know.

Was this information helpful?

You'll receive a notification in Activity when someone:

  • Likes or comments on one of your posts.
  • Mentions you in a comment (example: "great photo, @shayne!").
  • Starts following you or requests to follow you.
  • Tags you in a photo.
Was this information helpful?

Yes, someone you blocked can mention your username on Instagram, but this mention won't appear in your Activity. If you block someone and then change your username, they won't be able to mention you unless they know your new username.

Was this information helpful?

Reply to someone in a comment thread by mentioning them in your comment. They'll get a notification in their activity feed to view the comment.

To reply to someone on iOS:

  1. Go to the photo or post
  2. Tap any comment
  3. Tap Reply and add your comment

You can also press and hold any username in the comment thread to automatically start a comment mentioning that username.

Was this information helpful?