Tagging and Mentions

Tagging People in Your Photos and Videos

You can tag people in a photo or video that you share on Instagram.

To tag people as you're posting a photo or video:

  1. After you've selected a photo or video and added effects and filters, tap Tag People from the Share screen.
  2. Tap on someone in the photo.
  3. Start entering their name or username and select them from the dropdown menu.
  4. Tap Done (iPhone) or (Android).

To add people to a photo or video you've already shared:

  1. Go to the photo or video.
  2. Tap (iPhone) or(Android) above the photo or video.
  3. Tap Edit.
  4. Tap Tag People, then tap on someone in the photo.
  5. Start entering their name or username and select them from the dropdown menu.
  6. Tap Done > Done (iPhone) or tap then tap (Android).

Note: If you're not able to tag someone, they may have changed who can tag them in their privacy settings. You'll also be able to see if they don't allow tags.

Was this information helpful?

No. Only the person who shared the photo or video can tag people in it.

Was this information helpful?

The people you tag in a photo or video are visible to anyone who can see it.

If your Instagram account is set to public, anyone can see the photo or video, and the person you tagged will get a notification. If your Instagram account is private, only your approved followers can see the photo or video, and the person you tag will only get a notification if they're following you.

Note: If you're not able to tag someone, they may have changed who can tag them in their privacy settings. You'll also be able to see if they don't allow tags.

Was this information helpful?

Photos and Videos You're Tagged in

From the Instagram app

  1. Go to your profile by tapping in the bottom right.
  2. Tap .

From Instagram.com

  1. Go to your profile by clicking or tapping your profile picture.
  2. Click or tap .

You can choose to manually or automatically add these photos and videos to your profile. Note that you can also change who can tag you in your privacy settings.

Was this information helpful?

When other people tag you in photos or videos, they may show up on your profile. Who can see these on your profile depends on your visibility settings:

  • Posts are Public: Anyone can see photos and videos you're tagged in on your profile.
  • Posts are Private: Only confirmed followers can see photos and videos you're tagged in on your profile.

How can I manage tags and who can tag me?

To manage tags, you can:

Was this information helpful?

To hide a photo or video you're tagged in:

  1. Tap the photo or video.
  2. Tap your username.
  3. Tap Hide from My Profile (iOS) or tap next to Hide From Profile (Android).

You can add a photo or video back to your profile by repeating steps 1-2 above and then tapping Show on My Profile (iOS) or Show In Profile (Android).

To hide multiple photos or videos at once:

  1. Go to your profile and tap .
  2. Tap Settings > Privacy > Tags.
  3. Tap Manually Approve Tags.
  4. Next to Tagged Posts tap Edit.
  5. Select the photos or videos you'd like to hide from your profile, then tap Hide.
  6. Tap Hide From Profile.

Keep in mind that hiding a photo or video from your profile doesn't remove you from the photo or video itself. Learn more about removing yourself from a photo or video you're tagged in.

Was this information helpful?

You can choose whether photos and videos you're tagged in appear on your profile automatically or manually. When you choose to add photos and videos manually, they'll appear on your profile only after you approve them. By default, when someone tags a photo or video of you, it will automatically be added to your profile.

To manually select the photos and videos that appear on your profile:

On the Instagram app

  1. Go to your profile and tap.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Privacy > Tags.
  4. Tap Manually Approve Tags.
  5. Tap next to Manually Approve Tags to turn this on.

On your computer or mobile browser

  1. Go to instagram.com on your computer or mobile browser.
  2. Click and then click .
  3. Click Privacy and Security.
  4. Below Photos of You, select Add Automatically or Add Manually.

If you choose to add photos and videos to your profile manually, you'll still be notified when someone tags you in a photo or video. To add that photo or video to your profile, tap the photo or video, then tap your username and select Show on My Profile (iOS) or tap next to Show in Profile (Android). On your computer or mobile browser, click the photo and then click in the top right. Select Post Options and then select Show on My Profile or Hide on My Profile.

Was this information helpful?

You can choose the audience that can tag or mention you on Instagram in your privacy settings from the Instagram app for Android or iPhone. If someone that’s not in your selected audience tries to tag or mention you, they’ll see that you don’t allow tags or mentions from everyone.

To update your tag and mentions settings:

From the Instagram app

  1. Go to your profile by tapping in the bottom right.
  2. Tap in the top right.
  3. Tap Settings then tap Privacy. From here you can update your:
    1. Tag settings. Tap Tags, then tap the circle to the right of the audience you want to let tag you (example: Only People You Follow or No One).
    2. Mentions settings. Tap Mentions, then tap the circle to the right of the audience you want to let mention you (example: Only People You Follow or No One).

You can also choose whether photos and videos you're tagged in appear on your profile manually or automatically. By default, when someone tags a photo or video of you, it will automatically be added to your profile.

Keep in mind, if you block someone, they won't be able to tag you or mention your username.

Was this information helpful?

To remove yourself from a photo or video someone tagged you in:

  1. Tap the photo or video.
  2. Tap your username.
  3. Tap Remove Me From Post.
  4. Tap Remove (iPhone).

Note that you can also change who can tag you in your privacy settings.

Was this information helpful?

Mentions

To mention someone, type @ followed immediately by their username (example: "great photo, @shayne!"). Don't include a space between @ and the username.

When you mention someone, they'll get a notification in their Activity feed letting them know.

Was this information helpful?

You'll receive a notification in Activity when someone:

  • Likes or comments on one of your posts.
  • Mentions you in a comment (example: "great photo, @shayne!").
  • Starts following you or requests to follow you.
  • Tags you in a photo.
Was this information helpful?

No, someone you blocked won't be able to mention your username on Instagram. If you block someone and then change your username, they won't be able to mention you unless they know your new username.

Was this information helpful?

Reply to someone in a comment thread by mentioning them in your comment. They'll get a notification in their activity feed to view the comment.

To reply to someone:

  1. Go to the photo or post.
  2. Tap Reply below any comment and add your comment.
  3. Tap Post.
Was this information helpful?