I deleted my Instagram account. Can I keep my account if I change my mind?
If it's been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion of your account, you may be able to cancel it and keep your account.
To cancel your Instagram account deletion:
- Log into your account from the Instagram app within 30 days of deleting your account.
- Tap Keep Account.
What happens if I permanently delete my Instagram account?
Your account will be permanently deleted 30 days after you initiate the deletion.
When your Instagram account is permanently deleted:
- Your profile, posts, likes, comments and everything else you've added will be permanently removed. You won't be able to access anything you've added.
- Some information, like direct messages you’ve sent, may still be visible after you delete your account.
- You won’t be able to sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account.
If you want to take a break from Instagram without deleting your account, you can temporarily disable your account.
What happens to my information if I permanently delete my Instagram account?
After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information.
It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you've posted. While we're deleting this information, it's not accessible to other people using Instagram.
Copies of your information may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error or other data loss event. We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations or harm prevention efforts. Learn more about our Data Policy.