When you tap Home, you'll see a feed where can view all of the photos you or the people you follow post. You can interact with these photos by liking or commenting on them.
Tap the status bar at the top of your screen (where the time and battery level are displayed), or double tap automatically scroll to the top of your Activity.
Tap the blue Instagram bar at the top of the app, or double tap to automatically scroll to the top of your Activity.
If you're having trouble loading the app or your feed, follow our troubleshooting steps. You may not be able to load photos in areas with a weak Wi-Fi or cellular signal. If you're having difficulty loading the web as well, then it's most likely an issue with your internet connection.
A couple of things to keep in mind:
- Some mobile carriers limit a customer's mobile data after they've used a certain amount of data in a month, which can result in feed errors toward the end of the month. If you're regularly having trouble using the app at the end of each month, contact your service provider (ex: AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile) directly.
- When there are a lot of people at an event, like a concert or baseball game, trying to use a mobile network at the same time, it may appear as if you have strong cellular signal even though connection is weak. This should resolve itself once you're no longer at the event.
If you think you're experiencing a technical problem with Instagram, you can report it within the app.
When you block or unfollow someone, you'll stop seeing their photos in your Feed from that moment forward. If you're only following a small number of people, you may see an unfollowed or blocked person's old photos in your feed until more new photos from people you follow are shared.
If you want to remove unwanted photos from your Feed right away, we'd suggest finding new people to follow in order to push those photos out.
There aren't any photos in my Feed!
If there aren't any photos in your Feed when you tap the Home tab, it's possible that you either aren't following anyone on Instagram or the people you're currently following haven't uploaded any new posts since you last checked.
Your Feed shows only the most recent photos uploaded by you and the people you follow, while your profile shows all the photos you've taken on Instagram. To view all your own photos, tap .
I only see a limited number of photos in my Feed.
The reason you may see a limited number of photos in your Feed is because it shows recent photos shared by people you follow. Some of the photos you may have seen in Feed when you first signed up for Instagram are no longer shown here because they're older and have been replaced by new photos.
If you'd like to view all of someone's photos you can go to their profile by tapping their username.
A "like" is a way to give positive feedback or connect with things and people you care about on Instagram. You can like the photos that other Instagrammers post to let them know you like what they've shared.
If you’ve accidentally double tapped to like or unintentionally hit ❤ on your own post, you can remove the like by tapping the ❤ button again.
Things to keep in mind:
- Very soon after you remove a like, the like alert will disappear from other people's Activity.
- If you've accidentally liked a photo and then unliked it, the person who posted it will still get a push notification if they have notifications turned on.
- If you like, unlike and then re-like a photo, the person who posted will only receive one Activity alert for the latest like and one push notification for the initial like if they have push notifications turned on.
For Apple iOS, double tapping a post to like it and tapping a hashtag/username are only supported for phones running iOS 4.0 or later. For Android, these features are supported on all phones.
You can search by hashtag or username by tapping Search & Explore > Search.
If you've liked a photo and untapped the "like" button, but the heart icon stays red, it's likely that you're seeing a cached version of the red "liked" heart. We cache certain images and text to make the app run faster, and occasionally this happens with the "like" icon.
Though it still looks like you've liked a photo, other people can't see the like. You can see if the like is still in our system by going to your Account Settings and tapping Posts You've Liked.