Delete Your Account
If you temporarily disable your account, your account and your photos, comments and likes will be hidden, but not deleted, until you reactivate it by logging back in. To temporarily disable your account:
- Log into instagram.com from a mobile browser or computer. You can't temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app.
- Click your username in the top right and then select Edit Profile.
- Click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right and follow the on-screen instructions.
You’ll need to be able to log into your account to temporarily disable it. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.
When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. If you'd just like to take a break, you can temporarily disable your account instead.
To permanently delete your account, go to this page and follow the on-screen instructions. Please keep in mind that after you delete your account, you can't sign up again with the same username or add it to another existing account, and we can't reactivate the account.
For security reasons, we can't delete an account for you. You’ll need to be able to log into your account to delete it. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.