Getting Familiar with Instagram

Instagram Basics

The log in screen lets you create a new account or log into an existing account. You can also recover your password by tapping Log In and then Forgot?

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

You can access your account on the web by going to instagram.com and logging in with your Instagram username and password. Learn more about web profiles.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Navigate the App

Profile shows your bio and Instagram posts. It's also where you can edit your profile info and adjust your Account Settings.

Get to your profile by tapping . Learn more about Profile.

Last edited about 5 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Camera allows you to take photos with the Instagram camera or share photos from your phone's library. Learn more about Camera.

Last edited about 5 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Use Search & Explore to find new and interesting people to follow, search for other Instagrammers and explore hashtags. Learn more about the Search & Explore.

Last edited about 5 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Home shows a feed of photos posted by you and your friends. You can like and comment on photos in your feed. Learn more about Home.

Last edited about a month ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Activity displays likes and comments on your own posts, and lets you see the photos and videos that your friends are liking and commenting on. Learn more about Activity.

Last edited about 5 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Photo Map

Your photo map lets you showcase where you’ve taken your photos or explore where others have taken photos on a map.

Viewing Your Photo Map

To view your photo map, go to your profile and tap . You’ll only be able to see your map if you’ve already added photos to your map.

When you visit your photo map for the first time, you may be asked to review photos you've previously uploaded with locations to add to your map.

Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

When you first visit your photo map, you may be asked to review photos that you’ve previously shared with locations to add them to your map. To review your photo map, tap Edit in the top right. Your photos will be grouped together by location. Tap to deselect the photos you don’t want to appear on your map. Photos with a will appear on your map. After you’ve chosen the images you want to add to your map, tap Done.

If you’ve never added location to any of your photos, you won’t be able to tap on your map.

Keep in mind that adding photos to your photo map is completely optional. If you don't want to share your location, you don't have to.

Learn how to add photos to your map.
Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·
  • If your profile is set to private, only your approved followers will be able to see your photo map.
  • If your profile isn't set to private, anyone will be able to see your photo map.
  • If you send a photo that includes a location with Instagram Direct, the people you send it to may be able to see that location.

If you name your location, people will be able to tap on the place name and see a page with all of the public photos that have been tagged with that location. When you set your profile to private, your photos won't appear on a location's page.

Keep in mind that after you’ve added a photo to your map, the next time you share a photo it will automatically be added to your photo map. You can turn off this setting any time by deselecting Add to Photo Map before you share a photo.

Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

We ask that you're mindful of which photos you add to your photo map since the precise locations of your photos and videos are visible to anyone who can see your posts.

If you've posted photos near your home or another location you'd prefer not to share, you can remove the location from those posts by removing them from your photo map.

Learn how to set your profile to private so that only people you approve can follow you and see your posts. Keep in mind that your photo map is completely optional, if you don't want to share your location, you don't have to.

Last edited about 7 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Photos tagged with a location will also appear on that location’s page, and the location name will be visible on the photo's share URL. The locations of your photos are also visible on some third-party services that use our API, like gramfeed.com and web.stagram.com.

Note: If someone sets their photos to private, the photos won't be visible to people that aren't following them. This includes photos on location and hashtag pages.

Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Customizing Your Photo Map

After you take or upload a photo and add any effects or filters you want, you can add it to your photo map. To add an image to your photo map select Add to Photo Map before you share it. If you want, you can then name your location.

When you add a photo to your photo map and name your location, your followers will be able to see the precise location where the photo was taken. When you add a photo to your photo map without naming your location, your followers will see your location when you uploaded the photo. You can set your profile to private so that only approved followers will be able to see your map. Your photo map is completely optional, if you don't want to share your location, you don't have to.

After you’ve added a photo to your map, the next time you share a photo it will automatically be added to your photo map. You can turn off the setting any time by deselecting Add to Photo Map before you share a photo.

Learn how to add or edit the location of a photo you've already posted.

Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

When you add a photo to your photo map, you can also name your location. To name your location, first take a photo and add any effects or filters you want, then:

  1. Select the option to Add to Photo Map
  2. Tap Name This Location
  3. Find your location in the nearby results, search for the location or name the location yourself

If you name your location, people will be able to tap on the place name and see a page with all of the public photos that have been tagged with that location. When you set your profile to private, your photos won't appear on a location's page.

After you’ve added a photo to your map, the next time you share a photo it will automatically be added to your photo map. You can turn off this setting any time by deselecting Add to Photo Map before you share a photo.

Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

You can remove photos you've previously added to your photo ap:

  1. Go to your profile and tap
  2. Tap , then Edit
  3. Select the photo or photos you'd like to remove, then tap Done

When you remove a photo from your photo map, the location name is also removed from that photo. The photo will no longer appear on that location’s page.

Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

If you remove a photo from your map, it won't be deleted from Instagram. The photo’s location will be removed and the photo won't appear on that location's page, but the photo will still be on your profile.

Last edited about 2 weeks ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

At this time, there's no way to add geolocation information to previously uploaded images.

Last edited over a year ago
Was this answer helpful? ·

Exploring Other Photo Maps

To view someone's photo map, go to their profile and tap . If an account is set to private, you'll only be able to view their photo map if they've approved you as a follower.

You won't be able to tap if an account hasn't added any photos to their map.

Last edited about 2 months ago
Was this answer helpful? ·