Delete Your Account

If you temporarily disable your account, your profile, photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. To temporarily disable your account:

  1. Log into instagram.com from a mobile browser or computer. You can't temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app.
  2. Tap or click in the top right and then select Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll down, then tap or click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.
  4. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu.
  5. Tap or click Temporarily Disable Account.

You’ll need to be able to log into your account to temporarily disable it. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.

If you don't want to disable your account but want to change who can see it, you can set your posts to private or block people.

Note: If you'd like to delete your Instagram account, follow these instructions.

Was this information helpful?
When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. If you'd just like to take a break, you can temporarily disable your account instead.

After you delete your account, you can't sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account, and we can't reactivate deleted accounts.

To permanently delete your account:

  1. Go to the Delete Your Account page. If you're not logged into Instagram on the web, you'll be asked to log in first. You can't delete your account from within the Instagram app.
  2. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu.
  3. Click or tap Permanently delete my account.

If you'd like to delete a different account, click the username in the top-right of the Delete Your Account page, tap/click on next to username and select Log Out. Log back in as the account you want to delete and follow the directions above.

For security reasons, we can't delete an account for you. You’ll need to be able to log into your account to delete it. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.

Was this information helpful?

You're in control of your data on Instagram. You can view your account data or download a copy of your data on Instagram at any time.

Reviewing your data on Instagram

From Instagram on the Web:
  1. Go to your profile and click
  2. Click Privacy & Security
  3. Scroll down to Account Data and click View Account Data
  4. To review a specific type of data, click View All.

From iOS or Android:

  1. Go to your profile
  2. Tap (iPhone) or (Android) in the top right
  3. Scroll down and tap Account Data
  4. Tap Request Download
  5. To review a specific type of data, tap View All.

Downloading a copy of your data on Instagram

If you want a copy of everything you've shared on Instagram, you can request a download of your data in a machine readable (JSON) format. You'll need your Instagram account password to request this information. Learn more if you've forgotten your password or can't log in.

From Instagram on the Web:

  1. Go to your profile and click
  2. Click Privacy & Security
  3. Scroll down to Data Download and click Request Download
  4. Enter the email address where you'd like to receive a link to your data and enter your Instagram account password
  5. You'll soon receive an email titled Your Instagram Data with a link to your data. Click Download Data and follow the instructions to finish downloading your information.

From iOS or Android:

  1. Go to your profile
  2. Tap (iPhone) or (Android) in the top right
  3. Scroll down and tap Data Download
  4. Tap Request Download
  5. Enter the email address where you'd like to receive a link to your data and tap Request Download
  6. Enter your Instagram account password
  7. You'll soon receive an email titled Your Instagram Data with a link to your data. Click Download Data and follow the instructions to finish downloading your information.
Note: It may take up to 48 hours for us to email you a download link. Some data you have deleted may be stored temporarily for safety and security purposes, but will not appear when you access or download your data.

If you can't access your Instagram Account and still want to download a copy of your data, you can contact us.

Was this information helpful?