Delete Your Account

If you temporarily disable your account, your profile, photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. You can only disable your Instagram account from a computer or mobile browser.

To temporarily disable your account:

Instagram.com from a computer:
  1. Log into instagram.com from a computer. You can't temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app.
  2. Click your profile picture in the top right and click Profile, then click Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll down, then click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.
  4. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  5. Click Temporarily Disable Account.
Instagram.com from a mobile browser:
  1. Log into instagram.com from a mobile browser. You can't temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top right and tap Profile, then tap Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll down, then tap Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.
  4. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  5. Tap Temporarily Disable Account.

You’ll need to be able to log into your account to temporarily disable it. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.

If you don't want to disable your account but want to change who can see it, you can set your posts to private or block people.

Note: Follow these instructions if you'd like to delete your Instagram account.

Was this information helpful?
When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. If you'd just like to take a break, you can temporarily disable your account instead.

After your account is deleted, you can't sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account.

For security reasons, we can't delete an account for you. You’ll need to be able to log into your account to request deletion. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.

To request the permanent deletion of your account:

Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Instagram. After your account has been deleted, you will not have access to Instagram’s Data Download tool.

  1. Go to the Delete Your Account page from a mobile browser or computer. If you're not logged into Instagram on the web, you'll be asked to log in first. You can't delete your account from within the Instagram app.
  2. Select an option from the dropdown menu next to Why are you deleting your account? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu.
  3. Click or tap Permanently delete my account.

If you'd like to delete a different account:

  1. Click or tap the username in the top-right of the Delete Your Account page.
  2. Click or tap next to the Edit Profile and select Log Out.
  3. Log back in as the account you want to delete and follow the directions above.

After 30 days of your account deletion request, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information. It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you've posted. While we're deleting this information, it's not accessible to other people using Instagram.

Copies of your information may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts. Learn more about this in our Data Policy.

Was this information helpful?

You're in control of your data on Instagram. You can view your account data or download a copy of your data on Instagram at any time.

Reviewing your data on Instagram

Instagram app for Android and iPhone:
  1. Tap or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap in the top right, then tap instagram-settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Security, then tap Access Data.
  4. To review a specific type of data, tap View All.
Instagram.com from a mobile browser:
  1. Tap your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap instagram-settingsSettings in the top left.
  3. Tap Privacy and Security.
  4. Scroll down to Account Data and tap View Account Data.
  5. To review a specific type of data, tap View All.
Instagram.com from a computer:
  1. Click your profile picture in the top right corner, then click instagram-settingsSettings.
  2. Click Privacy and Security.
  3. Scroll down to Account Data and click View Account Data.
  4. To review a specific type of data, click View All.

Downloading a copy of your data on Instagram

If you want a copy of everything you've shared on Instagram, you can request a download of your data in a machine readable (JSON) format. You'll need your Instagram account password to request this information. Learn more if you've forgotten your password or can't log in.

Instagram app for Android and iPhone:
  1. Tap or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap in the top right, then tap instagram-settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Security, then tap Download Data.
  4. Enter the email address where you'd like to receive a link to your data and tap Request Download.
  5. Enter your Instagram account password and tap Next, then tap Done.
  6. You'll soon receive an email titled Your Instagram Data with a link to your data. Tap Download Data and follow the instructions to finish downloading your information.
Instagram.com from a mobile browser:
  1. Tap your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap instagram-settingsSettings in the top left.
  3. Tap Privacy and Security.
  4. Scroll down to Data Download and tap Request Download.
  5. Enter the email address where you'd like to receive a link to your data and tap Next.
  6. Enter your Instagram account password and tap Request Download.
  7. You'll soon receive an email titled Your Instagram Data with a link to your data. Tap Download Data and follow the instructions to finish downloading your information.
Instagram.com from a computer:
  1. Click your profile picture in the top right corner, then click instagram-settingsSettings.
  2. Click Privacy and Security.
  3. Scroll down to Data Download and click Request Download.
  4. Enter the email address where you'd like to receive a link to your data and click Next.
  5. Enter your Instagram account password and click Request Download.
  6. You'll soon receive an email titled Your Instagram Data with a link to your data. Click Download Data and follow the instructions to finish downloading your information.

Note: It may take up to 48 hours for us to email you a download link. Some data you have deleted may be stored temporarily for safety and security purposes, but will not appear when you access or download your data.

If you can't access your Instagram Account and still want to download a copy of your data, you can contact us.

Was this information helpful?