Who can tag or mention you in their posts on Instagram
You can choose the audience that can tag or mention you on Instagram in your privacy settings from the Instagram app for Android or iPhone. If someone that’s not in your selected audience tries to tag or mention you, they’ll see that you don’t allow tags or mentions from everyone.
Update your tag and mentions settings
To update your tag and mentions settings:
Instagram app for Android and iPhone and Instagram Lite app for Android
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap more options in the top right, then tap settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Privacy. From here you can update your:
    • Tag settings. Tap Posts, then below Allow Tags From, tap the circle to the right of the audience you want to let tag you (example: Everyone, People You Follow or No One).
    • Mentions settings. Tap Mentions, then tap the circle to the right of the audience you want to let mention you (example: People You Follow or No One).
Instagram.com from a computer
  1. Click your profile picture in the top right, then click settingsSettings.
  2. Click Privacy and Security. From here, you can update your:
    • Mention Settings. Below Mentions, click a circle to select who can mention you (example: Everyone or No One).
    • Tag Settings. Below Allow Tags From, click a circle to select who can mention you (example: Everyone or No One).
Instagram.com from a mobile browser
  1. Tap your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap settings at the top.
  3. Tap Privacy and Security. From here, you can update your
    1. Mention Settings. Below Mentions, tap a circle to select who can mention you (example: Everyone or No One).
    2. Tag Settings. Below Allow Tags From, tap a circle to select who can mention you (example: Everyone or No One).
You can also choose whether photos and videos you're tagged in appear on your profile manually or automatically. By default, when someone tags a photo or video of you, it will automatically be added to your profile.
Keep in mind, if you block someone, they won't be able to tag you or mention your username.
Was this information helpful?
English (US)
+
Meta © 2022