Disconnect contacts syncing on Instagram
This feature is only available on the Instagram app for Android and iPhone.
Disconnecting contacts syncing on Instagram will only stop Instagram from recommending accounts to follow based on your device's contact list.
Keep in mind that your contact list is periodically synced and your contacts will be re-uploaded the next time Instagram syncs your contacts. To stop this, go to your device settings and also turn off contacts syncing on all devices logged into Instagram.
To disconnect contacts syncing on Instagram:
Instagram app for Android and iPhone
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap more options in the top right, then tap settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Account, then tap Contacts Syncing.
  4. Tap switch on next to Connect Contacts to turn off contact syncing.
  5. Tap Disconnect.
Instagram Lite app for Android
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap more options in the top right, then tap settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Account, then tap Contacts Syncing.
  4. Tap switch on next to Connect Contacts to turn off contact syncing.
  5. Tap Disconnect.
Turning off contacts syncing will not delete contacts you’ve previously synced. If you’d like to stop Instagram from syncing your contacts and delete previously synced contacts, you’ll need to turn off contacts syncing on all devices logged into Instagram and delete all of your synced contacts from a computer.
To delete your synced contacts:
  1. Log into Instagram.com from your computer.
  2. Click your profile picture on the left.
  3. Click Edit profile, then click Manage contacts on the left.
  4. Click Delete all, then click Delete to confirm. Note: You cannot delete individual contacts from Instagram.
Keep in mind that it may take up to 90 days to complete the deletion process after it begins. During the deletion process, Instagram may still recommend accounts to follow based on your contacts. If you’d like to stop seeing recommendations for specific people during this time, you can block them. Learn more about this in our Data Policy.
For more information, please see our notice on contact syncing for Non-Users.
Was this information helpful?
English (US)
+
Meta © 2022