How do I block or unblock someone in a chat while using Messenger features on Instagram?

To block or unblock an account while using Messenger features on Instagram:

From the Instagram app for Android and iPhone

  1. Tap the person’s username at the top.
  2. Tap Block or Unblock, then tap Block or Unblock.

What happens when I block a Facebook or Instagram account?

You can block accounts you don’t want to hear from. When you block an account, that account won’t be able to:

  • Send message requests to or start video chats with your Instagram account.
  • Add your Instagram account to groups. If the account you’ve blocked is in a group chat you’ve been added to, you’ll be notified before you join the chat.
  • Join a room you’re in if you’re logged into your Instagram account and they’re logged into the account you’ve blocked. You can leave the room at any time.
  • Receive messages or video chats from your Instagram account.

Note that if you block an Instagram account, that account won’t be able to see your story or posts. Learn more about blocking Instagram accounts.

People aren't notified when you block or unblock them. Keep in mind, if you have a Facebook account, the account you blocked will still be able to message or call your Facebook account, unless you also block them on Facebook.

Was this information helpful?