Tagging

Tagging is currently only available for the iPhone and Android apps.

Tagging People in Your Photos

To tag people in your photo as you're sharing it:

  1. Tap Tag People from the Share screen.
  2. Tap on someone in the photo.
  3. Start entering their name or username and select them from the dropdown menu. If you don't see the person you're looking for, tap Search for a person.

To add people to a photo you've already uploaded:

  1. Go to the photo.
  2. Tap (Apple iOS) or(Android) below the photo.
  3. Tap Tag People.

This feature is currently only available for the Apple iOS and Android apps.

How helpful did you find this answer?

No. Only the person who uploaded the photo can tag people in it.

How helpful did you find this answer?

If your photos are public, anyone can see the photo and the person you tagged will get a notification. If your photos are private, only people following you can see the photo. The person you tag in the photo will get a notification if they're following you.

How helpful did you find this answer?

Photos You're Tagged in on Your Profile

Photos other people tag you in appear on your profile under the tab. You can choose to manually or automatically include these photos on your profile.

This feature is currently only available for the Apple iOS and Android apps.

How helpful did you find this answer?

When other people tag you in photos, these photos may show up on your profile. Tap to see them. Who sees these photos on your profile depends on your visibility settings:

  • Posts are Public: Anyone can see photos you're tagged in on your profile
  • Posts are Private: Only confirmed followers can see photos you're tagged in on your profile

You can hide photos you're tagged in from your profile or remove the tag if you don't want anyone to see them. You can also choose to manually approve photos you're tagged in before they appear on your profile.

How helpful did you find this answer?

To hide a photo you're tagged in:

  1. Tap the photo
  2. Tap your username
  3. Tap Hide from My Profile then Done

You can add a photo back to your profile by going to it, repeating steps 1-2 above and then tapping Show on My Profile.

You can also hide multiple photos from your profile at once.

On iPhone:

  1. Go to your profile and tap
  2. Tap in the top right, then select Edit Tags
  3. Tap the photos you'd like to hide from your profile, then tap Hide from Profile

On Android:

  1. Go to your profile and tap
  2. Tap in the top right, then select Hide Photos
  3. Tap the photos you'd like to hide from your profile, then tap in the top right

Keep in mind that hiding a picture from your profile doesn't remove you from the photo itself. Learn more about removing yourself from a photo you're tagged in.

How helpful did you find this answer?

You can choose whether photos you're tagged in appear on your profile automatically or only after you approve them. By default, when someone tags a photo or video of you, it will automatically be added to your profile. To manually select which photos you're tagged in appear on your profile:

  1. Go to your profile and tap
  2. Tap on Android or on iPhone in the top-right corner
  3. Tap Add Automatically or Add Manually

If you choose to add photos to your profile manually, you'll still be notified when someone tags you in a photo. To add that photo to your profile, tap on the photo, then tap your username and select Show on My Profile.

How helpful did you find this answer?

Except for people you've blocked, anyone can tag you in their photos. You can choose to manually or automatically include these photos on your profile.

How helpful did you find this answer?

To remove yourself from a photo someone tagged you in:

  1. Tap on the photo
  2. Tap your name
  3. Tap More Options > Remove Me from Photo
How helpful did you find this answer?

Send feedback about tagging.