With an Instagram Photo Map, you can showcase where you’ve taken your photos or explore where others have taken photos on a map. Maps take you beyond recently posted photos and let you rediscover previously Instagrammed memories. You can edit your map at any time and will always be able to opt into each and every photo you add to your map. It’s a beautiful new way for you and others to view your Instagram photos.
When you take a photo while connected via Wi-Fi or 3G, your phone logs the coordinates where the photo was taken. Using that information, you can now add that photo to a Photo Map! It's an easy way to add context to photos, document travels and see photos other Instagrammers have taken nearby.
By default, adding location or adding to your Photo Map is turned off for all photos you upload to Instagram. This means that no photos will appear on your Photo Map without your explicit permission.
Starting your Photo Map
When you navigate to your Photo Map for the first time, you’ll be prompted to review photos you've previously uploaded with geolocation turned on. If you've never added geolocation to a photo, your Photo Map will appear light gray and you won't be able to navigate through to the map.
During the review process you’ll see photos you’ve geotagged in the past, grouped together by location. From here you can deselect photos that you don't want appearing on your Photo Map, or you can deselect all images from a particular location. Once you’ve chosen which images you want to add to your Photo Map, simply tap Done to create your map!
It's important to note that when you deselect a photo during this review process the photo’s location data will be removed from Instagram permanently. The only way to get this data back if you've accidentally removed geolocation from a photo is to re-upload the image.
After taking your photo and adding a filter, you can add it to your Photo Map by turning on the Add to your Photo Map setting.
General location sharing
If the Add to Photo Map setting has been turned on, it'll attach an approximate latitude and longitude to your photo. The photo will then appear in your Photo Map at that location.
Specific (blue text) location sharing
If you've turned on Add to Photo Map, you can also add a specific location by tapping Name This Location. A list of nearby locations will appear for you to choose from. When you tag your photo with a specific location, people viewing your photo will be able to see exactly where you took it.
Custom (blue text) location sharing
Don't see your specific location listed after you tap Name This Location? You can create a custom name for the location and link it to the general latitude and longitude of your photo. On the Location page, type the location into the bar that says Find or create a location to give a custom name to that location.
Keep in mind that adding a custom location doesn't mean you're adding it to the list of specific, public locations available for other people to check in at. Your custom locations aren't available for other people to use; they're for your own use.
Location on the web
If you added your location to a photo when you posted it, that location will also be visible alongside your photo when viewing it from a computer.
Just go to your profile and then tap to get to your Photo Map and explore your location-tagged photos. You can zoom in and out on your map or view stacks of photos taken at the same location. You can also double tap a stack of photos that appear near each other to view them in a grid.
You can explore the Photo Maps of people with public profiles and people with private profiles who've approved you as a follower. Just go to that person's profile, tap (an inactive Photo Map will appear light gray) and embark on a journey to all of the places they’ve been.
You can remove photos from your map by tapping Edit in the top-right corner of your Photo Map. Photos you deselect won't be deleted from your Instagram profile, but the photo’s location data will be removed from Instagram permanently.
If you've accidentally removed the location from your photo, you can get that info back by uploading the post again.
When you download version 3.0 of Instagram, you'll see a section on your profile called Photo Map. When you go to your Photo Map for the first time, you’ll be prompted to select photos you've previously uploaded with geolocation turned on. Once you’ve chosen which photos you want on your Photo Map, simply tap Done.
When uploading a photo to Instagram, turn the Add to your Photo Map setting on to add it to your Photo Map for you and others to see. You can also choose a name for the location.
If your profile is set to private, only your approved followers will be able to see your photo map.
If you send a photo that includes a location with Instagram Direct, the people you send it to may be able to see that location.
If your profile isn't set to private, anyone will be able to see your photo map.
Geotagging is a technical term for storing the latitude and longitude of your current location with your photo. This data is collected by the GPS device in your phone or tablet and is accessible to Instagram if you grant permission.
If you'd like to turn this off, please consult your phone/tablet manufacturer’s instructions and settings.
No, the image won't be deleted from Instagram. The photo’s location data will be removed from Instagram permanently but the photo will still be on your profile.
At this time, there's no way to add geolocation information to previously uploaded images.
We ask that you're mindful of which photos you add to your Photo Map since the locations of your photos and videos are visible to anyone who can see your posts.
If you've posted photos near your home or another location you'd prefer not to share, you can remove the location from those posts by removing them from your Photo Map.
Learn how to set your profile to private so that only people you approve can follow you and see your posts.
Geotagged photographs are visible on some third-party services that use our API, like gramfeed.com and web.stagram.com. Photos tagged with a location will also appear on that location’s page, and the location name will be visible on the photo's share URL.
Note: If someone sets their photos to private, the photos won't be visible to people that aren't following them. This includes photos on location and hashtag pages.