Your News makes it easier to discover photos on Instagram. It’s where you can see likes, comments and new followers for your account and other accounts you follow.
Your News helps you stay up-to-date on recent activity from people you're following.
Tap and then Following at the top to see activity from people you follow. Tap News to see the most recent activity for you, including people who've started following you, @ mentions for you, and likes and comments on your photos and videos. Note that the Following tab won't work for those who follow more than 1000 people.
Your activity on Instagram will be displayed in Following for anyone who follows you. If your account is set to private, only the people you've approved to follow you will see your activity.
You may see posts from a website other than Instagram when tapping on the News tab. This usually happens when you connect to the Internet on your phone from a "gated" Wi-Fi network, like at a hotel, airport or cafe.
Try deleting your Instagram app and reinstalling it. Your photos and profile info will be saved on our servers when you delete the app, so nothing will change when you log back into your account.
Some people have reported that their News shows a login web page or an error page. This usually happens when you've connected to the internet through a network that changes DNS settings (ex: using Wi-Fi at a hotel, on an airplane or at a coffee shop.
We're working on preventing this from happening, but until an update is available, uninstalling and then reinstalling Instagram resolves the issue. Note that uninstalling the app won't delete your profile info or photos. Just log in after re-opening nstagram to get to your profile.
Liking Photos on Instagram
A "like" is a way to give positive feedback or connect with things and people you care about on Instagram. You can like the photos that other Instagrammers post to let them know you like what they've shared.
If you’ve accidentally double tapped to like or unintentionally hit ❤ on your own post, you can remove the like by tapping the ❤ button again.
Things to keep in mind:
- Very soon after you remove a like, the like alert will disappear from the other people's News.
- If you've accidentally liked a photo and then unliked it, person who posted it will still get a push notification if they have notifications turned on.
- If you like, unlike and then re-like a photo, the person who posted will only receive one News alert for the latest like and one push notification for the initial like if they have push notifications turned on.
For Apple iOS, double tapping a post to like it and clicking a hashtag/username are only supported for phones running iOS 4.0 or later. For Android, these features are supported on all phones.
You can search by hashtag or username by tapping Explore > Search users and hashtags.
If you've liked a photo and untapped the "like" button, but the heart icon stays red, it's likely that you're seeing a cached version of the red "liked" heart. We cache certain images and text to make the app run faster, and occasionally this happens with the "like" icon.
Though it still looks like you've liked a photo, other people can't see the like. You can see if the like is still in our system by going to your Account Settings and tapping Posts You've Liked.