Keeping Instagram Safe

To help keep Instagram safe, we've added support for additional account security and sensitive-content screens on certain posts that contain graphic content:

Two-factor authentication is a security feature. If you set up two-factor authentication, you'll be asked to enter a special login code or confirm your login attempt each time someone tries accessing Instagram from a device we don't recognize.

There are several two-factor authentication methods you can use with your Instagram account. To get started with two-factor authentication, choose either:

You'll need to have at least one of these set up in order to use two-factor authentication.

Note: After you've turned on two-factor authentication, you'll be able to access recovery codes for your account if you have issues receiving a code. Learn more about recovery codes.

Was this information helpful?

If you've turned on two-factor authentication and a code can't be sent due to connectivity or delivery issues, you'll still be able to complete the process with a recovery code.

To get a list of recovery codes for your account:

  1. Go to your profile and tap .
  2. TapSettings.
  3. Tap Security, then tap Two-Factor Authentication.
  4. Tap Recovery Codes.

To cancel your current recovery codes and get a new set of codes:

  1. Go to your profile and tap .
  2. TapSettings.
  3. Tap Security, then tap Two-Factor Authentication.
  4. Tap Recovery Codes, then tap Get New Codes.

Keep in mind that you must be logged in to your Instagram account to access the list of recovery codes or get a new list. You should copy the codes to your clipboard, take a screenshot of them or save them in some other way so that they're available when you log into Instagram.

Was this information helpful?

To help people avoid posts they'd rather not see, we may limit the visibility of certain posts that have been flagged by the Instagram community for containing sensitive content.

Photos and videos containing sensitive or graphic content may appear with a warning to let people know about the content before they view it. This warning appears when viewing a post in Feed or on someone's profile.

You can learn more about how we respond to sensitive content in our Community Guidelines. If you see something that you don't think belongs on Instagram, you can report it.

Was this information helpful?

Learn more about safety on Instagram.