How do I manage the privacy settings for apps and websites that I’ve logged into or connected on Instagram?
Apps and websites that you log into with Instagram or connect to your Instagram account can be active, removed or expired from your account based on the state they’re in and how often you use them.
To remove an app or website from Instagram on your iPhone or Android device:
  1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.
  2. Tap more options in the top right, then tap settingsSettings.
  3. Tap Security.
  4. Tap Apps and Websites, then tap Active.
  5. Tap Remove next to the app you'd like to remove.
What information can an app or website access on Instagram?
Some information about you is part of your public profile or is information you’ve made public. An app or website can access this public information at any time. Other information is not public and an app or website can access it only if you choose to share it with the app or website when you log in with your Instagram account.
An app or website can be:
  • Active: If it appears that you’ve used a third-party app or website within the last 90 days, it can access any information on Instagram you’ve shared with it at any time.
  • Expired: For personal Instagram accounts set to private, if it appears that you haven't logged into an app or website with your Instagram account in the last 90 days, its access to your non-public information automatically expires. It may still have non-public information you previously shared with it while it was Active, like your photos or videos. There are a couple of exceptions:
    • We only expire access to information you can make non-public on your Instagram account. Certain information that is always public on Instagram, like your username, bio and profile picture, can still be accessed after 90 days of inactivity. This information is publicly accessible to everyone, and an app or website can access this information even if you’re not an active user.
    • Some apps and websites have permissions that are used to monitor or manage information from business and creator accounts on Instagram. We do not expire these apps and websites after 90 days of inactivity because they may need to access these products continuously (even if you haven’t logged into the app or website recently).
  • Removed: When you remove an app or website, or the app developer has made an app unavailable for you, it can only access public information on your Instagram account. Keep in mind:
    • The app or website may have stored information from when you were using it.
    • Removing the app or website only prevents it from continuing to access your non-public information through Instagram.
Keep in mind:
  • If you start using an app or website again after 90 days of inactivity, it may become active again and can access the non-public information you previously chose to share with it.
  • An app or website may ask you for permission to continue accessing your non-public information after its access has expired. You can approve or deny its request directly or by updating your Instagram settings at any time.
  • We aren't always able to tell when you haven't used an app or website for 90 days, so we may sometimes stop an app or website from accessing your non-public information, even if you’ve used it in the past 90 days.
Was this information helpful?
English (US)
+
Facebook Inc.