Photo Map FAQs
When you download version 3.0 of Instagram, you'll see a section on your profile called Photo Map. When you go to your Photo Map for the first time, you’ll be prompted to select photos you've previously uploaded with geolocation turned on. Once you’ve chosen which photos you want on your Photo Map, simply tap Done.
When uploading a photo to Instagram, turn the Add to your Photo Map setting on to add it to your Photo Map for you and others to see. You can also choose a name for the location.
If your profile is set to private, only your approved followers will be able to see your photo map.
If you send a photo that includes a location with Instagram Direct, the people you send it to may be able to see that location.
If your profile isn't set to private, anyone will be able to see your photo map.
Geotagging is a technical term for storing the latitude and longitude of your current location with your photo. This data is collected by the GPS device in your phone or tablet and is accessible to Instagram if you grant permission.
If you'd like to turn this off, please consult your phone/tablet manufacturer’s instructions and settings.
No, the image won't be deleted from Instagram. The photo’s location data will be removed from Instagram permanently but the photo will still be on your profile.
At this time, there's no way to add geolocation information to previously uploaded images.
We ask that you're mindful of which photos you add to your Photo Map since the locations of your photos and videos are visible to anyone who can see your posts.
If you've posted photos near your home or another location you'd prefer not to share, you can remove the location from those posts by removing them from your Photo Map.
Learn how to set your profile to private so that only people you approve can follow you and see your posts.
Geotagged photographs are visible on some third-party services that use our API, like gramfeed.com and web.stagram.com. Photos tagged with a location will also appear on that location’s page, and the location name will be visible on the photo's share URL.
Note: If someone sets their photos to private, the photos won't be visible to people that aren't following them. This includes photos on location and hashtag pages.