What happens when someone mentions me in their story?

When someone mentions you in their story, your username is visible in their story, and anyone who can see it can tap your username to go to your profile. If your account is set to private, only your approved followers can see your posts.

Stories you're mentioned in don't appear on your profile or in your tagged photos. Keep in mind that photos and videos shared to someone's story disappear after 24 hours.

If someone you follow mentions you in their story, you'll get a direct message from them that includes a preview of their story. If someone you don't follow mentions you, it'll appear in your inbox as a message request.

There isn't a way to remove your username from someone's story or prevent them from mentioning you, but you can report someone's story.

Was this information helpful?